About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Advice on Stoves

8:49 a.m. on May 30, 2006 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
6 forum posts

Hi all,

I'm looking for a Stove to trek China with and I'm tossing up the Brunton Opimus Nova, Primus Omnifuel and MSR XGK. All seem just as good and reliable. Research shows these are the best. I'm happy to spend the money here to get a good stove.

I need something that won't break down (esp. not in China), can survive 40+ C plus heat, -10+C cold and altitude.

Optimus seems to be the BACKUP stove used for many expeditions and I've never read a bad review. So I'm favouring that at the moment.

The MSR is popular due to it's reputation but seems to break down quite a lot (esp. the pump)

The primus also gets a good review due to its end user performance.

I have no experience here. Any suggestions?

Thanks. Steve

10:56 a.m. on May 30, 2006 (EDT)
(Guest)

Huh... why to you need a stove to trek in China? Where in China are you going?

11:16 a.m. on May 30, 2006 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,219 reviewer rep
5,181 forum posts