Sourerkraut

11:23 p.m. on October 1, 2010 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
4,154 forum posts

Anyone have a recipe for Sourerkraut? I have 3 big heads of cabbage, from the food bank.

9:36 a.m. on October 2, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
67 forum posts

I don't but you can dehydrate it for coleslaw... I can post a recipe if you like.

11:56 a.m. on October 2, 2010 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
4,154 forum posts

Dehydrate the cabbage? I have been a cook for almost 40 years but have never made Saurerkraut

11:37 a.m. on October 3, 2010 (EDT)
5 reviewer rep
39 forum posts

In a nutshell, you would cut the cabbage in small slivers, and press the cabbage with some salt to help release it's natural juices.. continue until jar is filled, and cover with a salt-water brine.

1:25 p.m. on October 4, 2010 (EDT)
25 reviewer rep
67 forum posts

Gary I have a recipe at my food blog if you cannot access just let me know and I will just post it here for you RR

http://www.grouprecipes.com/121400/sauerkraut-in-a-1-qt-mason-jar.html

9:18 a.m. on October 19, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
4 forum posts