About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Dehydrating tomato paste

6:53 p.m. on March 14, 2011 (EDT)
126 reviewer rep
18 forum posts

I am new to home dehydrating and I have been using a cheap dehydrator to turn tomato paste into tomato powder using the method in the Cliff Jacobson book on cooking in the outdoors.  In brief the paste turned black after about 18 hours in the dehydrator.  Is this normal?  Is it safe to eat?  It certainly doesn't look very appetizing.  Any input would be great.

Thanks,

Mark

11:12 p.m. on March 14, 2011 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
207 forum posts

I've never heard of anyone dehydrating tomato paste but I have read of more than a few people carying tomato paste that comes in a squeeze tube. It might be heavier but I'm sure the quality is better.

4:03 p.m. on March 15, 2011 (EDT)
126 reviewer rep
18 forum posts

I have never tried to dry my own paste before, I always bought the dried powdered paste.  I have used the tube paste at home before, but I thought that they need to be refrigerated after opening.  I am not really sure what to do with the paste that I dried.  Is it edible?

4:10 p.m. on March 15, 2011 (EDT)
65 reviewer rep
170 forum posts

I never tried it myself, but I don't see why you shouldn't try a bit - it's not going to harm you, maybe it is simply burned and then not going to taste good...I carry tubes with me and they are OK, the longest time I had one open was for 2 weeks and it didn't went wrong.

4:12 p.m. on March 15, 2011 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,679 reviewer rep
1,137 forum posts

I dehydrate Spagetti sauce and take it hiking all the time.  Go for it.  It turns out somewhat like very dry fruit leather. 

4:21 p.m. on March 15, 2011 (EDT)
126 reviewer rep
18 forum posts