How to Carry a Bear Canister

7:50 a.m. on July 4, 2011 (EDT)
130 reviewer rep
130 forum posts

I'm going hiking in a high peaks region of the Adirondacks in a few weeks and need to bring a bear canister on a 5 day trip. I've taken a few test hikes with the canister in my pack but I still haven't found the perfect way to pack it. My pack is a 2800 ci3 Gossamer Gear Gorilla with an aluminum stay that has 2400 ci3 in the main compartment. I have plenty of room left in it for gear even with the bear canister positioned vertically, since my summer gear volume is quite low. 

How do you pack your bear canister? (not the inside, thanks) What do you put under it and around the sides, and below it to make carrying it more comfortable?

12:21 p.m. on July 4, 2011 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,497 forum posts

Carrying bear canisters is something I have very little experience with, so I will be keeping up with this thread to see what everyone has to say.

1:14 p.m. on July 4, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
912 forum posts

Me too.  Thinking about hiking the high sierra camps at Yosemite. 

Just saw this picture of your pack. I assume the black thing is a bear canister.

gossamer-gear-gorilla-ultralight-backpac

4:59 p.m. on July 4, 2011 (EDT)
43 reviewer rep
119 forum posts

Great question.. I need to know too. I will follow this thread also.

8:06 p.m. on July 4, 2011 (EDT)
7 reviewer rep
134 forum posts

I carry my canister (bearikade weekender) horizontally inside my pack.  Sleeping bag goes first and the canister on top of it, then the remainder of my gear goes in.  This keeps my pack's center gravity around my mid back.

Most of the lightweight packs I looked at were not large enough to carry the canister in this manner so I splurged and got a McHale, and had him size the packbag for this purpose.

9:24 p.m. on July 4, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

I stuff my canister in the main stuff sack area horizontally and toss in the rest.