I gotta ask...

10:32 a.m. on October 8, 2013 (EDT)
219 reviewer rep
15 forum posts

I have been climbing for around 6 months now and just led my first 5.8 and 5.9 in Sandrock last weekend. needless to say, now I'm hooked. Here's my problem. My first pair of shoes were a pair of MadRock Fenix's that I bought at an REI garage sale for $30. Great shoes just too beginner for me now. I then bought a pair of MadRock Flash 2.0 because they were on sale on The Clymb. I have bought worn these shoes out from gym climbing and now climbing on real rock.

Being outside climbing last weekend really made me realize how much an aggressive toe helps you climb MUCH harder. That and the fact that I like having a shoes that doesn't have a lot of give in it. So I guess my question is, can anyone recommend a shoe (brand does not matter) that has this aggressive toe and is also relatively rigid? Any help is appreciated!

12:33 p.m. on October 8, 2013 (EDT)
BRAND REP
12 reviewer rep
36 forum posts

LA Sportiva

Miura VS

Miura Lace

Testarossa

Futura 

Katana

Solution

Python

Mad Rock

Shark (best option from Mad Rock)

Evolv

Predator G2

Shaman

These are the only ones I have had experience with.  Try to get to a demo at your local gym, or get a feel for them in the store if they have them.  I would only get more aggressive shoes only if you plan to do a lot of overhanging bouldering/climbing.  Plus these shoes tend to be more expensive.  Good luck in your search!

Mike

6:22 p.m. on October 8, 2013 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
592 reviewer rep
1,518 forum posts

Friend of mine does 36 hours of horseshoe hell. Knows tona climbers at the top stratashpeher and himself is MAD monster climber. Evolv Geshido is named after him and him. GeShiDo is his and his climbing partners word for Get Sh** Done.