Mount Adams--good place to start?

9:37 p.m. on April 10, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. DrPete

I'm a total newbie in the mountains, and I'm looking for a nice climb to get used to my ice axe/crampons, practice self-arrests, glissades, etc., and get some good altitude training. I'm going to be in the Seattle area this May-June, and Mt. Adams is catching my eye. I get the feeling that it's an easy enough climb for a newbie, but I wanted to get some input as to whether this can be done as a solo trip, and if there are any recommended routes besides the mule trail for someone who's done a lot of hiking but is new to mountaineering. Any suggestions? Thanks.

12:16 p.m. on April 16, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

I climbed Mt. Adams (solo) via the South Route last summer before an attempt on Raineer. I found it to be very enjoyable, relatively easy but still taxing and rewarding. I started early morning from about 7000 ft. and used crampons all the way to the top. Real nice views from the summit. You'll find lots of chances to practice general mountaineering techniques on this climb. If you can, camp high on the mountain about 9000 ft. at a place called the Lunch Counter. Even though Mt. Adams is viewed as a pretty benign climb by most, I would recommend it to anybody who lives in the flatter lands like myself. By the way, traveling the road to the Cold Spring Trailhead is the most exciting part of the adventure by far. Without a doubt, the worse approach road in the lower 48 (my opinion).

good luck

3:29 p.m. on April 16, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

Words of advice when practicing self arrest

Pete,

The words below are in response to a recent broken ankle in the Adirondacks (New York). It turns out that the injury was sustained exactly as the gentleman below had guessed. I am not a serious mountaineer, but I think others will agree with the advice.