2-person assault tents...

7:11 p.m. on April 18, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

2 Questions....

* I'm looking for a 2 person, lightweight, snow tent. I'm currently considering either a Mountain Hardwear Trango-Assault or an MSR Fury (previously a Moss tent of some kind). Does anybody have any feedback on these? I've read all the on-line reviews I can find and they both sound great. A shop here is getting them in for me to look at shortly.

I'm wondering about the weight of the trango (it seems a little heavy for its size) and also the fact that its fly is nylon whilst the Fury is polyester which is what my other tents are made of. How is nylon when it's wet? Saggy or taut?

Snow camping in Australia ain't always so dry as snow-camping in Europe, Japan or USA I expect.

* Second question... I've little experience in setting up a tent on mixed terrain. I.e. I've pitched on snow, and I've pitched on earth/rocks. If you guys don't know what the tent-ledge is going to be covered in, how do you know which set of pegs to take? Previous experience with snow pegs on rock is... don't do it... you'll bend them all! Star-picket rock pegs are also useless in snow and I've just ended up sticking in axes, snow-pickets, trekking poles and everything I can make a dead-man out of instead. This is fine... unless you want to leave the tent up whilst you go climbing. What do you guys do?

Cheers... winter is nearly upon us down here!

Alan.

5:29 p.m. on April 19, 2002 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. Paul, Paul R, Paul R., Paul Raphaelson, PR

I don't have experience with those two tents, but I have some thoughts for you on securing a tent on mixed ground.

First, anything that you can use as a deadman on snow can work on rock. Up high in most places i've been, you don't often find ground that you can bang stakes into. I often find myself tying off the middle of a stake (I use those old school chouinard stakes that are made of 7075 aluminum .. awesome if you can find them) and piling big rocks on top.