About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Gore-Tex Necessary For Denali?

10:54 p.m. on March 22, 2004 (EST)
(Guest)

Is a three-layer gore-tex jacket/pant necessary for Denali, or will a lighter weight waterproof combo (eg marmot precip)suffice when coupled with a soft shell.

12:25 p.m. on March 23, 2004 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,234 reviewer rep
5,182 forum posts

I thought about taking my PreCip the last time I was on Denali. But trying it out on a few BC ski tours (at subzero temps) and thinking about my experiences on previous trips to the Alaska Range prompted me to eliminate that idea.

The short answer is - take your 3-layer jacket/pant combination or full-body suit.

I have some discussion of my experience with clothing on my website http://home.pacbell.net/wstraka, and click on the "Denali" link at the top of the 1st page, then on the gear link. A lot of people use full-body gtx suits, although I personally do not like them. I do not remember seeing anyone above 11,000 ft with something as light as Precip, or even some of the lighter 3-layer gtx parkas.