Alpine Climbing in Patagonia

10:43 p.m. on July 13, 2006 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
18 forum posts

Any recommendations on easy to moderate alpine climbing routes in the Torres de Paine area, Fitzroy group, or otherwise? Two partners and I are heading south in December for about a month, looking to challenge ourselves within reason (we'll be a long way from home to have things turn sour...). One partner is a very experienced and competent aplinist, other partner and I have limited alpine experience but are in excellent shape and are experienced rock climbers. I really want to get into alpine climbing, tell me if you think there is a better place to learn at this time of year, most of the U.S. is pretty cold and nasty. Any advice would be appreciated.

12:13 a.m. on July 14, 2006 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,430 reviewer rep
5,314 forum posts

There are a couple books on the routes down there, which Brian can recommend. But you should know that weather there can be cold and nasty during the Patagonian "summer", or in fact any time. You might want to consider New Zealand as an alternative.

2:49 p.m. on July 14, 2006 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
408 forum posts

Supposed to be an awesome spot...but...I surely wouldn't head there if I didn't have a ton of alpine experience already.

If you have to go to South America, I'd suggest headin' to the Barloche area more north in Argentina. Tons of stuff there, and much better weather. Or, as Bill says, that time of year would be best for some spot down under like NZ or Australia.

Plenty of venues in Europe that time of year too. Spain, Italy, Croatia...

-Brian in SLC

6:30 p.m. on July 14, 2006 (EDT)
(Guest)

I've got no experience with Patagonia, just second hand stories of the weather. As both Brian and Bill say, New Zealand is a very good alternative.