About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

If I'm just getting into Climbing...

3:10 p.m. on January 20, 2008 (EST)
7 reviewer rep
15 forum posts

Hey, a couple of buddies and I are starting doing some beginning climbing, and wanted some ideas on where to start, more of a "wish I would've done that" list. Websites, tips, ideas, anything to help us get started. Found a gym in town that a lot of more experienced peeps climb at, but haven't really started going a whole lot; mainly there's a place in town that doesn't require a weekend to practice. The people there are not interested in really teaching us to climb there, (besides how to belay), so we'll have to find someone else, I guess.

Thanks,
BP

5:49 p.m. on January 20, 2008 (EST)
38 reviewer rep
1,743 forum posts

I am not an expert on climbing, so keep that in mind in reading this. There are different types of climbing-I would divide them up into alpine mountaineering-what I would call mountain climbing and rock climbing-the straight up the wall kind of stuff.

Regardless of what you intend to try, I highly recommend taking a class from either a commercial guiding company or maybe a college which may offer some classes. EDIT: As Bill notes below,the Sierra Club gave up classes a long time ago.

When I wanted to learn beginning mountaineering, I took a class from a well-known guiding company in New Zealand. We were six or seven students with two guides. We did a couple of days of basic rock climbing, then headed into the mountains for basic mountaineering, including training in the use of ice axe and crampons, self-arrest, rope skills, including belay and crevasse rescue-setting up a Z-pulley, climbed a couple of modest peaks and learned to make a snow cave.