guide service questions

1:38 p.m. on July 19, 2001 (EDT)
(Guest)

a.k.a. B Taylor

I'm trying to make plans for a trip next summer and I plan on doing it with the services of a guide. Since I've never used the services of a guide before, what sorts of questions should I be asking these companies as I call them up? Also, if there are any articles in the popular mags or online sources that discuss this sort of thing I'd appreciate it.
Thanks

3:26 p.m. on July 19, 2001 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
409 forum posts
Maybe something...

Quote:

I'm trying to make plans for a trip next summer and I plan on doing it with the services of a guide. Since I've never used the services of a guide before, what sorts of questions should I be asking these companies as I call them up? Also, if there are any articles in the popular mags or online sources that discuss this sort of thing I'd appreciate it.

Here's some ground rules for evaluating a guide service that I've stole from a canyoneering website:

-what are the company's guide training and certification requirements?

-what are the company's first aid and rescue and certification requirements?

-Does the guide service have insurance and all required permits?

-How long has the guide service been in operation and how many days has the guide accumulated?

-Does the guide have experience in diverse conditions and seasons?

-How familiar is the guide with the particular climbing terrain including various seasons and conditions?

-Has the guide service had any accidents and why?

-Will the guide or guide service provide references?