Tell a spooky ghost story outdoors

10:00 a.m. on October 25, 2010 (EDT)
TRAILSPACE STAFF
715 reviewer rep
3,166 forum posts

This thread is for comments on the article "Tell a spooky ghost story outdoors"

Hikers who disappear without a trace, haunted huts, Sasquatch sightings, mysterious lights and visions in the woods, UFOs. If you want to scare the gorp out of your friends, learn how to tell a good ghost story.

Full article at http://www.trailspace.com/articles/ghost-stories.html

9:02 p.m. on October 25, 2010 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,457 reviewer rep
5,393 forum posts

I have been telling tall tales at Scout campfires for quite a few years. Doc Forgey's collections work well for youth groups. The classic Robert Service poems from the Yukon, Cremation of Sam Magee and Shooting of Dan McGraw work well even when read, as do the 2 versions of Jack London's To Light a Fire (the early version is the optimistic one where the protagonist succeeds, while the later version, written when London was apparently in a very depressed stage of his life, has the protagonist freezing to death as he fails to keep the fire lit).