Washing or cleaning a Goose Down sleeping bag

10:25 a.m. on May 29, 2009 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
4,086 forum posts

My Golite Featherlight down bag has become quite dirty since I have been sleeping in it for almost two months. I am moving back indoors and want to clean it and get the down refluffed. What is the best way to wash and dry it?

7:43 p.m. on May 30, 2009 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
4,086 forum posts

So no one here has any exterience with cleaning a down sleeping bag?

9:44 p.m. on May 30, 2009 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,329 reviewer rep
5,258 forum posts

Sometimes, I don't look at the computer for several days, Gary. But yes, I have washed many down bags many times in the 6 decades I have been using them. That has taught me lots of things not to do when washing down bags. And there are plenty of places on the web that you can find correct instructions for washing down bags.

First of all, do not dry-clean a down bag, or any sleeping bag for that matter. Dry cleaning a down bag will remove the natural oils from the plumules and feathers (all down gear with anything less than 900-fill rating has at least a few feathers). Plus, unless you let the bag air out fully for several days (yes, that is "days") in a well-ventilated area, the rather poisonous fumes from the dry cleaning chemicals can make you pretty sick. The modern dry cleaning chemicals are not supposed to be toxic to the point of death, but some of the ones used until the 1970-1980 time frame could and did kill people.