Camelbak failure and a close call on a cold night

9:05 a.m. on January 8, 2012 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
1,861 reviewer rep
1,319 forum posts

Howdy folks, just wanted to take a moment to let everyone know of a camelbak failure that I had recently which resulted in a fairly bad situation.

So I will start off by saying that I have been using camelbaks for probably 10-11 years now. I started out using them in the military and they were a godsend. I have been using the black military issue  heavy duty camelbaks until recently when i bought a new camelbak pack which came with one of the new blue omega water beast resivoirs. Esentially the same item from what i can tell except its blue.

I used this new pack and bladder probably 10-15 times and had no issue. On my last night hike this past Wed. I was about 8-10 miles away from a road following fairly rough terrain. I had been dropped off by my wife and she was going to pick me up 12 hours later in the AM when she got out of work.

I was roughly 8 miles into my hike and it was around 1 or 2 am, and all of a sudden I start to get really cold but couldnt really tell why(i was still actively moving). I kept on moving for another 10-15 minutes and all of a sudden I could feel water running down my legs. The stupidest thing i did was instead of dropping the pack i swung it around my front to investigate, at the same time a huge deluge of water came out of the bottom of the pack and soaked alot of my front side as well. I dropped the pack and investigated and sure enough my camelbak was leaking badly.