Double plastic liners

3:05 p.m. on April 25, 2012 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,627 reviewer rep
1,272 forum posts

I'm new to plastic boots but if I wanted to replace the liner, or just get a spare to make drying faster, do I need to get the exact same brand or are they pretty interchangable as long as size is the same?

Jeff

6:13 p.m. on April 25, 2012 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
2,487 reviewer rep
1,320 forum posts

well, if you get the same brand/model liner in the same size, you know that the liners will fit.  if you get some other brand, whether the liners will fit or not is going to be more a matter of chance.  another brand's liner may fit, but it may not.  the last thing you want with plastic boots is a bad fit, because they tend to fit sloppy anyway, and you would be increasing your chance of blisters and of impeding circulation when you can least afford to do that. 

you can't necessarily rely on the size because, like most shoes, plastic boots may run a little large or small depending on the brand and model.  so, for example, a pair of scarpa invernos may not fit quite the same as the scarpa omegas, and i have no idea whether Scarpa's 'universal' moldable ski boot liners will fit either of these.  (it happens that the Inverno is the plastic boot i use when i expect to be hiking/climbing using crampons or in really cold weather more generally).  also, keep in mind that many of the European sizes may not convert exactly to US.

i have found it helpful to have two liners, one for really cold weather, and the other that is not so heavily insulated.  the high-altitude liners make my feet feel overheated when it's above ten degrees.  i have stuck with the liners intended for my boots, for what it's worth. 

6:19 p.m. on April 25, 2012 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,627 reviewer rep
1,272 forum posts

Many thanks!

8:43 p.m. on April 25, 2012 (EDT)
255 reviewer rep
1,469 forum posts

goretex socks ?

10:44 a.m. on April 26, 2012 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS