Been using the same gear for 10 years.. and I need an intervention

7:17 p.m. on August 31, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

I've been using the same gear FOREVER and have been carrying fewer items however I am totally plateauing in terms of weight. Anyone have any advice on this list:

prepatrip.com/lists/Mcpuddin-Ultralight-Backpacking-List

I know the tent and sleeping bag definitely need to be adjusted... but beyond that, does anyone have any recommendations on what I should have / should not have?

7:21 p.m. on August 31, 2012 (EDT)
21 reviewer rep
1,058 forum posts

James,

It doesn't matter what other people think.  What do you think, since you are the one that will be carrying the equipment?

9:21 p.m. on August 31, 2012 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
836 forum posts

I have been using the same pack for 10 years, I keep it because it carries well. it boils down to what you are comfortable with, and reliability.

9:25 p.m. on August 31, 2012 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
836 forum posts

looks like you may want to redo your link. my browser choked on it.

12:06 a.m. on September 1, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
606 forum posts

My tent is ten yrs old and I have no plans to replace it, I thoight about buyin another just like it to use when this one dies. I have gone to a hammock in nice weather. You can save a couple of pounds that way. Im layin in my hammock on top of surry mtn right now. I just got an ems alpine 40 bag and saved another pound, I got it a thrift store for 8 bucks with a thermolite reactor liner in it. I couldnt get to your link either

1:17 a.m. on September 1, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
48 forum posts

James,

I read your post on Backpacker earlier today, went to your sight, went to Ruby on Rails, pulled down the tools etc.

Very cool idea that you and your siblings and friends are building out, very useful.  I wish you all well in your efforts.