Light Jacket Help (Outdoor Research or Merrell)

7:47 a.m. on November 6, 2012 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
3 forum posts

Hello,

I've found two jackets I like and trying to decide between the two.  Mostly just for light hiking and since I live in a city I wait around at some bus stops at times.  I'm hoping with another light layer underneath these will be satisfactory in the 40-20 degree range.  I live in Missouri if that helps at all.

One is 650-fill down and the other synthetic, PrimaLoft Synergy polyester

The synthetic is about twice the weight, I know down is lighter, but not sure if the warmth will be comparable for that much weight difference.

I like the style of both, and I know where I can get either for almost the same price.  I can't find any reviews on the Merrell, not sure if it is a newer item or what.

I'm new to buying these brands, before I always bought cheaper jackets and didn't really do my research.  So any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

It won't let me link the items, but here is their descriptions and an image comparison.

First is: Outdoor Research Transcendent Down Hoodie Jacket

Fabric type: Polyester / polyester blend

Shell fabric: Ripstop polyester

Shell lining fabric: Polyester taffeta

Windproof: No

Waterproof: No

Insulated: Yes

Insulation type: Down

Insulation: 650-fill down

Back length?: Hip-length

Back length? (in.): 29 inches

Average weight?: 1 pound Hood: Yes

Second is: Merrell Adventure Rest Ridgeland Hoodie Jacket

Fabric type: Polyester / polyester blend

Shell fabric: Polyester 

Shell lining fabric: Polyester 

Windproof: No

Waterproof: No

Insulated: Yes

Insulation type: Synthetic 

Insulation: PrimaLoft Synergy polyester fibers (50% recycled) 

3-in-1 jacket:  No

Hood: Yes

Back length?: Thigh-length 

Back length? (in.): 31 inches

Average weight?: 2 lbs. 3.2 oz. 

image.jpg

3:50 p.m. on November 6, 2012 (EST)
12 reviewer rep
843 forum posts