Does anyone else use down comforters?

2:08 p.m. on March 12, 2013 (EDT)
85 reviewer rep
13 forum posts

I've been backpacking for a few years now and on of my first gear purchases was thermarest down comforters. Being from Texas, I have yet to regret this decision and am just wondering who else uses them and in what conditions. Most of my trips have been in BiBe and into the White Mountain wilderness of NM. My wife and I went out to BiBe in January and saw temps in the high 30's to low 40"s. I sleep hot and of course my wife sleeps cold so we have supplemented with a small fleece blanket for her. I guess I am also looking for some advice also because we have plans to hike part of the JMT next summer when I finish school. I am curious on others thoughts on my sleep system and the JMT. If I will need to get bags for this trip, I would rather start putting away for them now.

2:29 p.m. on March 12, 2013 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,627 reviewer rep
1,275 forum posts

I climb a lot with another guy so....

Joking aside, I hear these are really popular with minimalist mountaineers, as long as you are comfy spooning with your tent mate.  I sleep with a down comforter at home, not one made for the outdoors, but it is very warm.

As long as you have a good pad under you and a good roof over you it sounds like a good system.

My best advice is to try it out in conditions which best reflect the worst you expect to see on the trip. That might mean doing a little '"yard camping" if you are up to it.  It sounds kinda corny but it is a good way to find out what might work without risking an epic. 

Jeff

5:42 p.m. on March 12, 2013 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
1,308 reviewer rep
1,078 forum posts

+1 to what Jeff said about the backyard testing.

I'd think with the variable conditions found along the JMT at different elevations/aspects, I'd think the versatility of a quilt a benefit.