New Pack, Lower Back Injury

12:23 p.m. on April 22, 2013 (EDT)
GUIDE/OUTFITTER TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
1,227 reviewer rep
179 forum posts

Hello All,

I'm in the market for a new pack, and want to hear some feedback from you. I have been backpacking for about 30 years, and have a torn disc L5-S1. This is a complication as result from a fractured pelvis in 2007. I refuse to let this injury keep me from big mountain trips, and am looking to become more of a lightweight. 

I am ideally looking for something around 55-60 liters, I typically go on trips for about 4-10 days. does anyone have any advice for a truly comfortable lumbar/hip belt? I am happy with my Lowe Alpine 65+ pack, but she's getting old, and a little heavy (6lbs). I'm afraid some of these newer packs with thin hip belts may not suffice... Right now, my base pack weight (with this pack) is about 20lbs...

I'm thinking about a Gregory Savant 58... please, ANY advice will help!!!

12:27 p.m. on April 22, 2013 (EDT)
1,227 reviewer rep
179 forum posts

Oh yeah, almost all of my trips are cold-ish weather (fall/winter/early spring).

1:56 p.m. on April 22, 2013 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,702 reviewer rep
1,338 forum posts

well, you definitely don't need a six-pounder to carry 20 pounds. 

impossible to suggest a brand - i would try things on and see what feels good to you.  regarding hip belts, i would focus on how they fit and work, not on how thick they are.  some interesting reading from a custom backpack manufacturer on this issue:

http://www.mchalepacks.com/sarc/03.htm

2:32 p.m. on April 22, 2013 (EDT)
1,377 reviewer rep
1,339 forum posts

A thinner waist belt works fine, in my experience, as long as its job is to hold     the weight on your hips. To do that doesn't require a full, wide band, just enough to position the wider sections where the weight is (usually on the hip bones).