Gear for rainy/moist hike

2:03 a.m. on April 24, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

Hi folks,

I finally got my act together this year and got permits for west coast trail. Everything I have read about it suggests it is wet, slippery, and even in August I should plan on getting rained on.  The problem is while I am experienced backpacker, almost all of my backpacking experience is in relatively dry conditions and I have very little experience in wet environments.

Any suggestion on gear, clothing, etc. would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks.

8:14 a.m. on April 24, 2013 (EDT)
59 reviewer rep
270 forum posts

Hi soaringdude. I'm on a different coast but we get our fair share of rain, drizzle, fog, and 100% humidity, so I'm familiar with the weather conditions, at least.

The good news is that it'll be a warm rain, I'm guessing? Getting wet in the cold can be dangerous as well as uncomfortable, but if it never gets colder than room temperature, it's not so bad. True, on a long walk wet skin will be prone to chafing and blistering, so being drenched for days is not great. But sometimes it's okay to just embrace the wet and enjoy it.

Do you already have rain gear? Breathability and pitzips and pocket venting will help, but in steamy warm rain there's really no escaping sweatiness under rain gear. If it's warm enough, I often concentrate on keeping my feet (blister prevention) and packed gear dry, and say the hell with the rest. Passive showering.