About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

choosing Pants for both humid & cold conditions

2:30 p.m. on May 31, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
11 forum posts

Hi all

I am planning a trip to a rugged terrain in China's Yunnan Province. Basically it will involve a hike up from a valley at about 2000 meters (about 6500 feet) up to a mountain pass at 4500 meters (15000 feet) in 3-4 days and the other way down. The temperatures will range from humid in the low valleys to alpine sub zero at the pass. I should expect rain every day, with snow or hail possible at the top.

I have thermal underwear and waterproof outer pants both which are tested on former trips and are quite good. But  I am curious as of what pants should I take for this trip. Would any polyester pants from a reputable company would do or should I go for something specific? I have very little knowledge of fabrics, design , brands etc. and I would really appreciate your advice in the matter!

Thank you

Zak

3:22 p.m. on May 31, 2013 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
834 forum posts

where will you be doing your shopping?

8:01 a.m. on June 1, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
11 forum posts

Hi Trailjester, I will be doing my shopping in Hong Kong. Plenty of well-equipped shops over here. 

8:52 a.m. on June 1, 2013 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
1,669 reviewer rep
1,275 forum posts

I am assuming you mean humid cold conditions? and not humid hot conditions, correct?