Hok Altai?? Anyone Try them?

6:17 p.m. on March 27, 2014 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
3,627 reviewer rep
1,274 forum posts

The Hok Altai "skishoes" look interesting:

https://altaiskis.com/products/the-hok/

Anyone try them?  Supposedly they are like short fat skis with permanent skins and offer the ease of slowshoes with the downhill glide of skis but with a speed someplace in-between. 

What I'm wondering is if I could I use these to go places like Mt Adams (S Spur) and Camp Muir.  I am guessing I am just better off renting a Dynafit setup for a few days this Summer but they are kinda interesting.  

2:07 p.m. on March 28, 2014 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

It seems that the main complaints with the Hoks is that they do not downhill ski that well.  The skins are not removable and so slow you down. They don't have much sidecut, so they don't turn great, and being so short, you can't really rip turns on the downhills.

First, I am no expert here.  So take my comments as just anecdotal. But I do have some experience with them this winter.

Second, they don't glide well, as there is little camber to them.  You will notice that they are a little noisy too as the skin does not come up off the snow much.  I will add to this that they don't track well at all due to their short length.  I have the 125s, but I doubt the 145s will be much better. A little better, but not much.

So they are not good touring BC XC skis. 

But they do climb reasonably well, even through the skin is not full length.  But a BC AT ski with full skins or a snowshoes will still climb better. The benefit is that you don't have to screw with taking the skins off and on constantly. And they maneuver through trees SO much better than full length skis.  You can just pick them up and walk with them like snowshoes even. 

So, they are not as good as full skinned skis or snowshoes for climbing.