About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

7:16 p.m. on May 1, 2005 (EDT)
(Guest)

I have no experience with backpacking but I need to by one for my daughter that is doing 6 weeks of volunteer work for the Student Conservation Association. She will be backpacking in Mississippi in June and July when the heat and humidity will be a factor. I understand that external framed backpacks are cooler on the back than internal framed packs. The internal backpacks look more comfortable. Is there anybody on this list that has experience with both and may give me some advice on this topic.

8:42 a.m. on May 2, 2005 (EDT)
TRAILSPACE STAFF
234 reviewer rep
924 forum posts

In general, external frame packs do offer better ventilation. However, some of the newer internal frame designs do pretty well on this front as well. If your daughter will be working on a trail crew, she'll probably be spending compartatively little of her time actually backpacking, so I wouldn't get too hung up on the point of ventilation.

Of course, ventilation is not the only "coolness" factor for teenage girls. Internal frame packs are by far more popular and widely used these days. It's mostly a marketing thing; there's not much functional advantage one way or the other for most users.

However, external frames do have a big advantage in a trail crew scenario: you can remove the packbag and use the frame to haul tools, rocks, logs, and whatever else may need to be moved to and from a worksite.