Tent Stakes

9:44 p.m. on May 7, 2006 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
19 forum posts

I was wondering if all tent stakes are created equal. I am fairly new to backpacking and I need to buy a few extra stakes for my tent. Is there anything to take into consideration when looking at tent stakes? Is titanium better than aluminum? Is any brand better than the other? Any advice would be great. Thanks!

6:26 a.m. on May 8, 2006 (EDT)
30 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts

I use what ever is lightest.

My favorite tent stakes are made from aluminum welding rods that I cut to 8" lengths and bent a hook on one end.

8 of these stakes weigh next to nothing.

I camp in the southeast where the soil is mostly composed of packed organic matter and sand.

12:12 p.m. on May 8, 2006 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,329 reviewer rep
5,251 forum posts

No, tent stakes are not created equal. In fact, far from equal. I would amend Ed's comment to "I use whatever is lightest that suits the place I am pitching the tent." Which means I need to know something about the place I am going.

The only set of Ti stakes I have has proven useless, since they were way too light and bend far too easily. But then, they were free, sent for evaluation as prototypes.

Anyway, it depends on the soil/rock/sand/whatever. In some soil that is fairly dense, but not too hard, wire stakes or a fairly sturdy aluminum wire-like, hook-shaped stake is just fine. A lot of SE US soil is like that (where Ed is). When we were in Mississippi and camped a lot in LA, AR, AL, GA, that worked great, except in August, the dry season, when the clay dried to brick-hard consistency. Then the light wire type would just bend and not go into the ground.