Best compass???

12:36 p.m. on October 11, 2007 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

I'm new to compasses. I need one to keep me oriented hiking through the N Ga moutains, but there is almost a million choices.

So which one??? Which brand??? I like german made products and took a liking to K&R's line of compasses but I can't find hardly any info on their credentialls! Does anyone know about their products? It seems nobody buys thier compasses. The swedish Silva was my second choice until I found out they're not swedish anymore and if you want a swedish Silva you can buy a Brunton Nexus. So I'm kinda confused. What are the pro and cons of the different brands? Is a saphire pivot bearing really better? I've mostly decided the features I want, but I don't know which brand. Like I said, I like the K&R's but I don't think Trailspace.com even sells them! Any experienced info will be greatly appreciated and thanks for your time!!!

2:40 a.m. on October 13, 2007 (EDT)
38 reviewer rep
1,765 forum posts

Compasses are like most other pieces of gear-lots of choices, but no one "best" compass for all purposes. I have several, but am far from an expert. I have a Silva 27 (a small mirror compass) I like a lot. I also have a big Suunto MC2-G, but after getting it, I realized it's more than I need for most trips.

For most applications, a small mirror compass or a plate compass would be fine. The important thing is learning how to use it and a read a map. The big differences I think is between plate and mirror models and ones that are adjustable for declination or not. My Suunto is adjustable, but the Silva isn't.

Some people use an orienteering compass-simple and small and you wear it on your thumb like a big ring.

1:13 p.m. on October 15, 2007 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,622 reviewer rep
5,398 forum posts