Winter Hiking Shoes

6:42 p.m. on December 6, 2007 (EST)
9 reviewer rep
37 forum posts

First off, let me greet everyone here and introduce myself.

I'm live in Sacramento, CA but I love the outdoors and backpacking. I am also very new to backpacking and probably over-due it on the items I bring.

I am looking to put together a winter hiking trips here soon with some friends. We are considering somewhere up hwy88 or Kings Canyon.

The problem I have is choosing a good backpacking boot. I need a boot thats cheap, that works with snow-shoes and yet keep my feet warm enough, when I am walking around without the snow shoes.

I don't think we will be experiencing any sub-zero temps, but you never really know.

I would also like to be able to use the boot, when climbing Mt. Shasta next May.

I've looked at Merrell's Switchback Gor-Tex. They look and feel like excellent shoes, but I also wonder how those compare to the Hi-Tec Altitude IV's, that are half the price.

I am always on a tight budget, but I also understand the importance of bringing the proper gear.

Any help is very much appreciated. Thank you.

7:05 p.m. on December 6, 2007 (EST)
110 reviewer rep
762 forum posts

I have a pair of Columbia Gore-Tex "Vertical Rise" boots that I paid very little for through Sierra Trading Post. I like the boots very much. They are waterproof and work well with snowshoes as long as I wear gators. I purchased them 1/2 size larger than usual to accomodate an extra layer of socks. This keeps my feet nice and warm without the bulk of an insulated boot.

This reply isn't so-much to sing the praises of the boots themselves, but to suggest to you that there are outlets that sell "last year's" models of some of the best boots out there. If cost is a factor (and when isn't it?) then places like Sierra trading Post are worth a serious look. You can save up to 70% or more. (If you are willing to be seen in last years styles!)

8:10 p.m. on December 6, 2007 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS