Many Many Hours on my Feet in all Weather...

2:20 a.m. on November 17, 2008 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
7 forum posts

Greetings one and all...
Dave here from Idaho.
Just a little background to help sort out the questions prior to asking.
I have spent many a day on the trail with a 55-60 lb. pack on my back, and the same with 5 lbs. on my back.
I purchased a pair of Montrail Boots roughly 6 or so years ago and really never used them. Now I'm in a position to break them out. I've noticed from wearing them that the thick leather is quite stiff. What can I do to soften them? I know there are products out to use? Need suggestions...

Also Part II...
I'm a firearms Instructor for the state of Idaho. And spend up to 12-13 hours on my feet on the range at a time. I have been looking for a comfortable pair of boots to safe my feet not to mention my lower back which is a fair amount of pain by the end of the day. (Had a surgery a few months back, herniated disc issue).
I have ran across many great reviews on Asolo 520??? And another brand of foot bed. (Can't remember.. feet something.)
Also, I'm torn between the Asolo and Irish Setter Boots.
Can anyone lend any guidance Please???

Dave
P.S. I'm 5' 10" 230Lbs... Decent shape... ;)

8:55 a.m. on November 17, 2008 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
391 forum posts

For a person of your size, who is going to carry moderately heavy loads such as those you refer to, an attempt to ...soften... your boots is a mistake. What you want to do, is to carefully treat them with Obenauf's and then "break them in" by frequently wearing them around your home and on short walks in your neighbourhood.

This will mold the boots to your feet and will take some time, but, the overall results will be worth it. There IS one further step you can take to improve your situation and that is to take your boots to the nearest podiatrist and have corrective orthotics fitted.