Another Stove Question

11:31 a.m. on March 4, 2009 (EST)
18 reviewer rep
18 forum posts

I would like to start by saying that I have been lurking on this site for a while now and recently joined. I am very impressed by the amount of clear and concise information that is availalble on this site and how the members who post in these forums conduct themselves. So my question is: I am just beginning to get into backpacking and I am planning a few long weekend trips (3 days-ish) later this spring as trial runs before a longer 7 to 10 day trip this summer. I have some camping gear from base/car camping that I have done but I have never purchased or used a trail stove before. I was wondering which setup would be the best for me. Thank you in advance for any input. -Nate

12:21 p.m. on March 4, 2009 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,622 reviewer rep
5,398 forum posts

In the long run, for most purposes, a liquid fuel stove is the most satisfactory in terms of price, long-term costs (fuel mostly), heat output, and weight on long treks. But you do have to learn how to use a liquid fuel stove properly (even many long-term users do not know how to properly light and maintain their liquid fuel stoves).

The easiest to use, lightest (for short trips), and cleanest are the compressed gas (canister) stoves. But they are more expensive for fuel and, on trips more than 3 or 4 days, the total weight of stove, fuel, and containers that you have to pack out is greater. Also, most canister stoves perform poorly at temperatures below about 40F (there are some special designs that work at very low temperatures). Also, the "stove top on canister" designs tend to be very "tippy", making it easy to dump the whole pot of soup on the ground.