a tent opinion question...

11:08 a.m. on April 29, 2009 (EDT)
2 reviewer rep
10 forum posts

Yes I know, some people hate these questions but sometimes I see some great input from you!

I am replacing the Walrus ArchRival that has suited our needs for many years. Actually I think I will keep it as a back up should someone need to borrow it.

My wants - lighter weight (under 5lbs total weight), free standing, 3 season, at least 30 sq feet of floor space

My do not wants - a tarp, a very small two person,

I have been looking at two very different tents. A NorthFace Specturm 33, which I believe is discontinued but still available. Single wall, enough space for 3, good value. And a Big Agnes Copper Spur 3, Double wall, more space. I know there are concerns with condensation on a single wall but I have some experience with them.

Most trips are over nighter hike-in but some are 2-3 days and the odd 4-5 day pending the weather in the Rocky mountains of BC. So all weather protection is a must (wind, rain, snow)

I am open to suggestions, opinions and anything else...thanks

12:02 p.m. on April 29, 2009 (EDT)
153 reviewer rep
460 forum posts

I would suggest the ALPS Mountaineering Lynx two-person model.

It weighs 5lbs 2ozs. A tad bit over your stated desired weight limit. Nice tent for the price and great features. Quick and easy set-up too.

http://www.sportsmansguide.com/net/cb/backpacking-tent-by-alps-mountaineering.aspx?a=498195

12:05 p.m. on April 29, 2009 (EDT)
38 reviewer rep
134 forum posts

REI Quarterdome T3 is great for 2, and easy to catch on sale. Otherwise, I'd go with an SMD Lunar Duo, or Tarptent Double Rainbow, Scarp 2, or Rainshadow.

12:46 p.m. on April 29, 2009 (EDT)
2 reviewer rep
10 forum posts

I doubt I would find the Alps tents in Canada or anyone to ship to Canada.

The REI is now on my list, thanks for the other suggestions, I will have to do some research.

I just wish I could see all these tents first hand.