About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Cabin tent 3 or 4 season car camping recs please

12:20 p.m. on May 26, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

I'm new to camping. Although there are only 2 adults in the family right now, I would like to take my dad along at some point ( also possible kids in the future). I live in a cold state, so need a 3 or 4 season tent. We will mostly do car camping, maybe even try tenting on some RV campgrounds. My hubby is tall and a big guy so we need lots of room. Oh and there are lots of mosquitoes in our area. Maybe this is asking too much, but to be able to cook inside the tent or a screened area would be a big help. And something that's easy to set up. Also need to be able to get two queen sized air mattresses inside. Oh and it rains a lot here too.

To sum it up:

3-4 season

Lots of room

Lots of head room

Mosquito netting, can be part of the tent or as an accessory

Easy set up

Good water/rain proofing

Good venting/air circulation

$ 300 or less

Any recs/suggestions on which tent to buy will be greatly appreciated.

12:42 p.m. on May 26, 2009 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
649 forum posts

Welcome to trailspace Kitty

My Suggestion would be a pop up trailer its like a tent you can pack all your stuff in it, cook in it, they have screen rooms & etc.

1:01 p.m. on May 26, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Thanks for the trailer suggestion. We have one, but the gas mileage while towing is terrible. I'm hoping to use the tent as an alternative.

2:12 p.m. on May 26, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,073 forum posts

I would go to [url=http://www.campmor.com]www.campmor.com and look at the family tent selections. They will have tents by Eureka and Kelty that will fit the bill and be priced under $300. Both brands make decent tents for the trips you are describing.