About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Gear for Jungles: my recent experience and suggestions

9:39 a.m. on August 22, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
19 forum posts

Just six months ago, I was not even a novice: I was a studio-based computer scientist who had yet to consider the outdoors!

However, I have recently returned to London from an expedition into the uncharted rain forests of Palawan. I crossed many rivers, climbed steep mountains, evaded venomous spiders and snakes, and befriended a nomadic tribal people who shared with me their ancestral secrets.

This was not a tourist trail. I pursued it as part of my postrgaduate fieldwork in anthropology, and I am the only non-tribesman to see some of the places. I lived with them for weeks at a time, over a period of three months.

Trailspace.com helped to make my expedition a success

Before I began, several members of Trailspace.com gave me some very good tips. I would like to return the favour by sharing with you some of my mistakes! :)

Bag

Most suggestions were that I buy a regular backpack and use internal drybags. One member suggested the Arc'Teryx Bora and my choice was the 65. This backpack was unbelievably good. Despite being a light-weight studio-based nerd, this pack empowered me to outpace everyone - even the tribes.

Having now seen hundreds of people struggling with many different packs, I am relieved and happy to say that I bought an Arc'Teryx.

Hat

The tribal peoples are typically short. They maintain cut passages through thick vines that are not high enough for a westerner to pass easily. I had correctly identified the need for jungle knives and had bought a sword-like 15” machete (known locally as bolos or itak). However, this was infrequently used and I would suggest a wide blade of approximately 10".