Clothing weight rating defined

5:06 p.m. on September 8, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
6 forum posts

Hi,

Is there any standard temperature ranges for clothing categorized by "light/mid/heavy/expedition weight." Or even if they give numbers such as "100/200/300" weight.

Yeah I know it sounds like a silly question. But I have no experience with the fancier fabrics and can't compare it to regular street clothes that I know just going by thickness.

6:53 p.m. on September 8, 2009 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
649 forum posts

I'm sure Bill can give you the best answer you could ever hope for but I don't think so light,med,heavy is just kind of a rule of thumb.

7:14 p.m. on September 8, 2009 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,506 forum posts

Not a silly question.

Hey Budric, welcome to Trailspace.

The rating seems to vary by manufacturer, there may be a universal rating I'm not aware of though.

Patagonia makes a base layer (first layer you put on) called 'Capilene' it comes in 4 different weights, 1 thru 4, 1 is for mild temps and 4 is their heaviest weight.

Patagonia does have a rating guide on the clothing tag that is indexed along with the level of activity you will be engaging in. I think there is one on their website as well.

Some manufacturers offer weights like 160 - 200 - 240 etc.

With other types of clothing, base layers, insulating layers, socks, etc, there are light-weight, mid-weight, & expedition weight like you mentioned, you probably should check with the manufacturer or on the manufacturers website for the ratings they offer with their clothing.

For example, here is a link to the 'Icebreaker' site, they make merino wool base layers, among other things, in 150 - 200 - 260 weights with an explanation of the weight ranges:

http://www.icebreaker.com/site/catalog/range.html?gender=Man&range=Bodyfit

7:15 p.m. on September 8, 2009 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
6 forum posts