Looking for new sleeping bag

11:11 p.m. on October 22, 2009 (EDT)
3 reviewer rep
4 forum posts

Ok, to make a long story longer...

I few years ago I got a REI polar pod 0 degree sleeping bag. From the get go I have not be happy with it. I took it on a family camping trip in the spring time in Colorado Mountains. It got close to 32 degrees. I got cold that night. Even with my fleece liner.

The last two trips I took with this bag it was 22 Degrees and the other was above 32 degrees best guess . To stay warm on the 22 degree night. I used my fleece liner and wore my long underware, close, and my down vest and put my gore tex jacket over my feet.

After my last trip hunting I couldn't take it any more and I return the polar pod bag to REI.

So I have start to hunt for a new sleeping bag. I have decided to get down this time. As I have been looking at down sleeping bags. I have noticed something that does not add up. I was looking a three different Kelty down bags and others. All three had the same fill of 750 but they all where rated at three differant ratings -15, 0, and 15. How can this be? What are they forgetting to say? Loft?

Please Help.

3:49 a.m. on October 23, 2009 (EDT)
3 reviewer rep
98 forum posts

My understanding is that the "fill" number (i.e., the "750") describes the volume of space taken up by a given weight of down. In other words, it relates to how much air that weight of down traps, and therefore is a measure of the quality of the down. The higher the number, the better the quality, insofar as down that traps more air for a given weight will insulate better and be warmer. Bill S. or one of the other experts can probably describe this even better.

However, the fill number has nothing to do with either the construction of a particular bag or the amount of down that the bag contains. Obviously, a bag containing only one ounce of down will not be particularly warm, even if that one ounce of down is "800 fill".