Expedition/Heavy Weight Base Layer

8:36 p.m. on November 25, 2009 (EST)
28 reviewer rep
63 forum posts

I am new to cold weather (below freezing) backpacking and I have agreed to a trip in the White Mountains, NH this winter. I have a midweight base layer (some form of polyester by EMS) that I like a lot.

I intend on taking a heavy weight base layer with me and I am unsure what I should buy. I am leaning toward a synthetic as this region is quite humid even in the winter. I like the Polartec Power Stretch fabric a lot.

How much insulation (relative to the weight and bulk) do softshell pants/tops offer? They offer a lot more versatility, but I'm guessing I should opt for the base lay.

Thanks!

5:14 p.m. on November 26, 2009 (EST)
65 reviewer rep
170 forum posts

I like power stretch, it's a great fiber for when it's really cold and will be my first choice for cold weather base layers. Softshell is a different thing as all, and it's hard to say as most will be just a shell but you can find some that have insulation in them, things like the patagonia speed ascent or the arcteryx hercules.

7:07 p.m. on November 27, 2009 (EST)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,329 reviewer rep
5,273 forum posts

Soft shells serve a different purpose from base layers and are not a substitute. The base layer is primarily a wicking layer to get perspiration and sweat away from the skin and on its way into the atmosphere. The insulating layer, which includes the soft shells, should just pass the moisture on through, though most soft shells are somewhat water repellent (not waterproof).