What stove to bring snowshoeing??

2:34 p.m. on January 8, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
76 forum posts

I am fairly new to snowshoeing just been with my parents as i have grown up, now im able to go out with my brother or friends but i find my jetboil takes a decent amount of time to heat up water. i know that it is because of the fuel that it takes but i am unsure what other stoves to look into for use when in the snow and higher elevations.

help is greatly appreciated

3:22 p.m. on January 8, 2010 (EST)
72 reviewer rep
311 forum posts

For snow melting i prefer white gas.Burns hoter and better in the cold than gaz cartridges.If you keep the cartridge warm they do work ok.For snow camping or touring were a stove is needed i use the MSR Whisperlite or GK,older one.The Gk is loud but it shure melts snow.There are many stoves on the market and everybody has their own preference,just like packs and boots, so remember everyones idea of the "best" is what has worked for them.If you can try several out before making a purchase.Read reviews and talk with those that have winter experiance camping or touring.Good luck and enjoy the winter!

3:33 p.m. on January 8, 2010 (EST)
38 reviewer rep
1,757 forum posts

Choosing a stove is one of the most talked about topics on this or any other camping forum. Do a search and you should find plenty of info and suggestions.

Generally speaking, canister stoves like the Jetboil do not work well in cold weather below around 10F-20F because the gas won't vaporize below those temps. I've used my Primus Micron at about 20-30F at 7600ft and it seems to work fine, but colder than that, I wouldn't count on it.