Boots for a big guy?

9:33 p.m. on January 12, 2010 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Hello, Ron here. I have been hiking for about 20 years, and it is time for a new pair of boots. I have wide, flat feet which require custom insoles, and I weigh 280 pounds. I have large, size 13 large volume feet. I am planning on a few multi day hikes this summer. I am considering either Merrell Wilderness or Limmer standards, maybe custom if needed. I am lucky enough that I live about 3 hours from Limmer, so I could drive there and be fit, but I am looking for some honest opinions. Have any of you tried both of these boots, and what would your opinions be? I look forward to any input you have. Thanks in advance.

2:03 p.m. on January 13, 2010 (EST)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,424 reviewer rep
1,283 forum posts

i have wide feet, sufficiently flat that i wear custom orthotics all the time. Both boots will work with orthotics. i have hiked a lot in both (Limmer's off-the-shelf, not custom. Customs cost a lot and may have a really long wait list).