sleeping bag help

10:11 p.m. on October 3, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

well im new to backpacking and have only been on one trip. me and my wife recently got marmot eiger 48 packs and a marmot halo 4p tent which we both really like and i dont mind the weight. now we are working on sleeping bags. we really like the marmot gear and are looking at the never winter 30 and the trestles 30. i would really like the never winter but the trestles is more affordable. only question is how well do these bags compact down? with the eiger 48 there isnt all the space in the world so i would like something that compacts down fairly well. the bags we are using now are my green army issue bags. what do you recommend we do? thanks.

7:29 a.m. on October 4, 2010 (EDT)
344 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts

I dont know anything about those bags. Just make sure they zip together :)

8:07 a.m. on October 4, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
80 forum posts

I don't compress my sleeping bag ever. I pack it in loose to fill any voids in my pack to stop anything moving around, as does just about everyone I travel with.

If you're doing 3 season trips look into a down quilt and Exped mats. You can roll the quilt and mat together and chuck it in a dry bag and hang it from your pack somewhere.

You'll probably want a bigger pack if you're out for more than a couple of days in mild temps though. Ideally, buy the gear then get a pack to fit it all in.

8:57 a.m. on October 4, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
5 forum posts

thats a good idea to just pack it in freely. i will have to start doin that. as far as the pack goes, we dont plan on goin out more then a couple days at a time.

12:06 a.m. on October 5, 2010 (EDT)
38 reviewer rep
134 forum posts

How's that Marmot Kool-aid? Anywho.........how much do you want to spend? Western Mountaineering bags are light, warm, and pack tiny. So do the Marmot bags like the helium.

1:59 p.m. on October 5, 2010 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS