Safety gear

11:59 a.m. on October 19, 2010 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

Hello all,

I am a student working on an engineering project with the purpose of making people safer when they are alone practicing outdoor sports/activities.

Could you please let me know what dangers you are worried about when you are "in the wild" on your own? I am wondering if I should address a situation where someone suffers an accident which makes him/her unable to alert first responders and give them his/her location (b/c of unconsciousness or some other injury with that effect).

I am also interested in finding out what solution you are using for emergency communication and if you are happy with it. I have heard of people using the SPOT technology, beacons, and their cell phones, of course. But I cannot tell if those are satisfactory or they have any limitations.

Thank you all very much for your input.

Best,

Sophia

9:53 p.m. on October 19, 2010 (EDT)
284 reviewer rep
140 forum posts

I found that hiking near the Mexican border my cell phone doesn't work.  The Jamul mountains.  I tell my wife or friends the area that I'm hiking.  I am out to enjoy my day hikes and not worry about something going wrong.  I keep enough with me for overnight.  I have a map of the area I'm hiking (National Geographic State Topo).  I don't want to carry more than 15 to 18 pounds with me.  To the people that carry 50 plus pounds, my hats of to you.  You can do only so much, for me water, food and shelter is number 1. 

6:43 a.m. on October 20, 2010 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,285 forum posts

Personally I am not a fan of electronics in the backcountry.  But when I solo I carry flares.  Thus lighter compact smoke flares would be good.  Or an eco friendly substance that can be spread over a large area to attract attention.Ed

12:44 p.m. on October 21, 2010 (EDT)
TOP 10 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
2,329 reviewer rep
5,272 forum posts

Sophia,