Warm-weather sleeping bags for upcoming Appalachian Trail thru-hike

10:18 a.m. on February 5, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

I am planning a AT thru-hike starting this spring.  I have a 20 degree sleeping bag, but am looking to buy a lightweight summer synthetic sleeping bag.  These are the ones I am considering:

Mountain Hardwear UltraLamina 45

Sierra Designs Wicked Hot 45 Eco Synthetic

Lafuma Extreme 650 Pro Sleeping Bag 40

Does anyone have experience with any of these sleeping bags?  Do you feel they are made well and the temperature rating is accurate?

Thanks

11:48 a.m. on February 5, 2011 (EST)
87 reviewer rep
1,063 forum posts

What month are you starting your thru? When do you plan on hitting the White's? I have a Mountain Hardwear 3 dimesional and a Zipp in liner that adds 20 degree's...Plan on dropping my heavy bag and going with the Zipp in then Maildropping the other bag...Mountain Hardwear makes good synthectic bags.IMO...Most will say a 30 degree bag is what you need because of temps vary in bags and climate conditions...

9:51 a.m. on February 12, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Denis:   Hi.  I am starting my thru-hike either late March or early April.  Not sure when exactly we will be reaching the Whites.  We are working out our intinerary/mail drops now.  Probably Sept. 

I plan on using my EMS 20 degree bag in the beginning and end with a liner.  And then switching to whatever summer bag I choose when it is warmer.

Thanks

1:44 a.m. on February 13, 2011 (EST)
12 reviewer rep
207 forum posts