Compare High Peak Tents

8:30 a.m. on February 11, 2011 (EST)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Hi Everyone!

I am new here, but have spent the last two days reading as much of the forums as I could!

I have read a lot of reviews on this site about the High Peaks tents. I am specifically looking at the Enduro, and the Hyper Lite.

Although I have read a lot about them here, I am having a tough time seeing if there are real differences between the two. My needs are this: A cheap four season tent. I will use it between 1-3 times per year, not back packing so weight isn't a huge issue. However, there may be an odd backpacking trip thrown in, but that would be rare, and hasn't happened yet. I live in the Great Lakes Region, so snow and or rain are possibilities. I have been using a plain old summer tent for the last 3 years to camp in February, so I am really just looking for a little more warmth. Temps have ranged from a balmy 20 degrees, to a chilly -4.We do not use any heating units of any kind, we do camp in the woods, and there is sometimes just me, and sometimes me and my husband.

The whole reason for the change is comfort, hence the desire to not spend a lot!

The biggest difference I can see between the two are size, 49.2"x92.5" for the Enduro, and 61"x84.7" for the Hyper Light. BUt I am not experienced enough to know what else to look for!

Thanks for the help!

~Pixie

PS~I am looking to purchase quickly, since soonest trip is next weekend.

12:47 p.m. on February 11, 2011 (EST)
329 reviewer rep
1,124 forum posts

What I can see, Is that the Enduro has 3 poles = extra strength for snow loads. Plus it has zippered vents = extra warmth. Plus more water proofing. I like the fact that there is more width in the sleeping area.

4:03 p.m. on February 11, 2011 (EST)
121 reviewer rep
590 forum posts

pixie -