About | Blog | Forums | People | Free Newsletter
Trailspace is a product review site for outdoor enthusiasts. Use it to find and share great gear.

Internal or external frame pack

5:59 p.m. on February 17, 2011 (EST)
200 reviewer rep
3,939 forum posts

Now of course by now most of you know I have been backpacking for about 35 years. But, I am curious. I have been using a internal frame pack for about 32 years, but which is better for taking the weight of long distant multiweek hikes, a internal or external pack. I have'nt tried a external pack in a long, long time. Would the frame of a external pack be better for carrying weight for a multiweek hike or is it about the same as an internal pack given the same weight load and use?

In a year I am planning a couple weeks hike up the Paria River from Lee's Ferry to Bryce Canyon and then the summer in the Kaiparowits Plateau and Escalante Canyon areas.

At 55 my back is not as strong as it was just 10 years ago and I would like to be as comfortable as possible

75% of my pack weight will be food and water, as my gear weight is about 15 lbs at most.

Just looking at REI, I did not see any external pack, does anyone still make them?

7:11 p.m. on February 17, 2011 (EST)
12 reviewer rep
207 forum posts

I don't have much experience with external framed packs but as long as you are on trail I would say that yes they would carry your heavy load more comfortably, definately cooler.

There are several compacnies that still make external framed packs but mostly for youths. I don't think Kelty will ever stop making them. I see some very good prices on Craigs list on a regular basis.

Here is one site with a couple listed.

http://www.outdooroutlet.com/products/search

8:44 p.m. on February 17, 2011 (EST)
200 reviewer rep
3,939 forum posts

Thank's Gary! I knew there was someone who made a external frame pack but could not remember the name, Kelty. There's a sale on their pack there at the link you shared.