DIY Carbon-Fibre Tent Poles ... Trekking Poles ???

2:58 p.m. on June 10, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts

Being the inveterate "tinkerer", amateur "Rube Goldberg", "Professor Gadget", "McGyver"-wannabee ... I am drawn to come-up with "stuff" that works for a lot of applications in my life ... and, hiking / backpacking / climbing are somewhat front-and-center.   I am a horn-player by trade (Trumpet / Fleugelhorn, etc.)  Also, guitar and mandolin player .   I buy, sell, trade, repair, refurb music instruments.   Former-wife was a certified band-instrument repair tech.   I paid for her college-training in this pursuit, and a LOT of shop tools;   and now that we are 'no-more', I 'inherited' a substantial stash of shop tools.  I'm pretty handy with tools, and have a high mechanical aptitude.

Anyhow, I recently was perusing a couple local thrift-stores, and ran across a bunch of used carbon-fibre shaft golf clubs.

"Light-bulbs" went off in my head.

Simply sawing-off the heads of the golf-clubs would provide the raw materials for fabricating (with little trouble) excellent, VERY LIGHTWEIGHT and sturdy, tent-poles and/or fixed-length trekking poles.

Is my idea sound ... or, not worth the trouble?

BTW -  I can acquire the golf clubs for about $2 apiece.

~r2~

11:52 p.m. on June 10, 2011 (EDT)
38 reviewer rep
395 forum posts

At $2 apiece whatchya got to loose in trying to fabricate something you've obviously been thinking about. Who knows, ya might be on to something good

1:16 a.m. on June 11, 2011 (EDT)
1,631 reviewer rep
3,962 forum posts

Go for it.

8:03 a.m. on June 11, 2011 (EDT)
MODERATOR REVIEW CORPS
998 reviewer rep
3,475 forum posts

I would give it a try; sometimes my ideas work, sometimes they don't, but either way I learn & have fun making stuff.

8:59 a.m. on June 11, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts

This is the kind of encouragement I need.