Chest-Hugging Backpack

1:40 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
18 forum posts

So far I’ve just tried a few packs, and they all seem to have the same problem: lower-back pain and intense shoulder irritation.  If I clip the tiny chest strap across, it digs hard plastic into my sternum.

It seems to me that ideally a pack would hug your whole chest so as to transfer as much weight as possible there while reinforcing your back and preventing the pack load from swaying with your gait.  Does it exist?

4:25 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
910 forum posts

I'm no expert but what packs have you tried?  Did they have waist belts? The weight should be distributed more to your hips. Most  packs I've seen lately have adjustable sternum straps (up and down).

I would suggest looking at http://www.trailspace.com/articles/backpacks.html

10:43 p.m. on June 24, 2011 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,238 forum posts

Do not overlook EXTERNAL FRAME backpacks.  I have four of them.

I have a vintage  (made in 1978) KELTY external-frame that is soooo comfortable, even with pretty heavy loads.   Nice and cool on the back, too.

A vintage Gerry panel-loader external-frame pack, for day-trips and week-end'ers.   It is super-light.  Cool on the back-area, also.

I recently sold a high-end Gregory internal-frame backpack, because ... try as I might ...  I could never find a 'happy medium' of comfort, and load-distribution on my body.  Plus, my back sweated a lot with it.

Plus, take a gander at everyone hiking with internal-frame packs.   They all look hunched-over like Neanderthals.   Can't be any good for your back.

With an external-frame pack, one can walk completely erect.   Very comfortably. Cool, also (great ventilation on the back).

Yogi Robt

3:45 a.m. on June 28, 2011 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,285 forum posts

marienbad said: