I am new to Paddling?

9:26 p.m. on August 7, 2013 (EDT)
200 reviewer rep
4,139 forum posts

I am curious about getting into paddling a canoe or kayak and live on Lake Powell. I guess like my legs have gotten strong from years of hiking and biking, that my arms will do the same from paddling a boat. Will they cramp up after a first days trip? 

Which is best for long distance , storing gear and lightweight? Is foldable good/bad? I want something comfortable as I have long legs being 6' 7" tall. Would a canoe be better or a kayak. I have heard of sea kayaks, are they better in oceans or as good on lakes like Powell. I won't be carrying it far except in shoreline camps and it has to be sturdy bottomed as many shorelines on Powell are sandstone rims of old Glen Canyon.

2:53 a.m. on August 8, 2013 (EDT)
TOP 25 REVIEWER REVIEW CORPS
708 reviewer rep
900 forum posts

Gary, to begin, you might check out the articles I wrote for Trailspace. I assume they are still available. A canoe will be much more versatile. I tandem 16 feet and under can easily be paddled solo or tandem. A solo kayak, with your height, is going to be a bit of an issue. A kayak will weigh more, have less capacity, but be less subject to wind. A sea kayak would work in Lake Powell, but again, your height is going to be an issue. 

Folding boats are a good option if you want something that can be easily transported. Folding kayaks and canoes are made. They will be slower. With your height, you might look at something of a compromise boat, either a Folboat, or the original, Klepper. If transport is not an issue, then look at some of Verlen Kruger's designs, or Western Canoes' Sea Clipper. I would consider both to be compromise boats.