Death Valley in late Jan.

11:07 a.m. on December 11, 2011 (EST)
14 reviewer rep
33 forum posts

I'm thinking about checking out Death Valley N.P. this January.  I checked out the N.P. website.......looks like a decent time of the year to go.  My wife and I have never been in that area.  We've spent a week backpacking in the Mazatzals in Arizona, so we're somewhat familiar with desert terrain, but by no means an expert.  I'm a surveyor by trade, and have done a fair bit of orienteering, but would prefer to stay on easier routes to navigate my first time there.  Any suggestions on cool areas to check out, tips, things to do, etc..?  Would it be a travesty not to bring mountain bikes as well?

It's going to be a long winter here in Missoula, MT, so we're itching for a week of sun & warmth. 

2:52 p.m. on December 13, 2011 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
592 reviewer rep
1,514 forum posts

Though mild in winter, temps at night at lower elevations will still approach freezing. So be prepared for cool (I know, not cold for a guy in Montana in mid winter) temps and have the appropriate gear for teh occasional storm coming in. Higher means colder as well. Furnace creeks record low was 15 degrees F.  Also, all vehicles, including bikes, are restricted to designated roads. No off roading allowed so not sure the Mountain Bikes are of use.  This is from my research, as I plan to go there too...but I wanna go in summer!

3:30 p.m. on December 13, 2011 (EST)
200 reviewer rep
4,164 forum posts

I have never been there but would like to go see the Devils Racetrack

DEvils-race-track-death-valley.jpg

3:50 p.m. on December 13, 2011 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS
592 reviewer rep
1,514 forum posts

Now I am all enthused.........I may run up this weekend...only 140 miels....

8:56 p.m. on December 13, 2011 (EST)
102 reviewer rep
2,295 forum posts

Biking in Death Valley is fun.  If you have road bikes bring those instead, for the reason Karen mentions.

Ed

12:36 p.m. on December 14, 2011 (EST)
REVIEW CORPS