GC South Rim Hermit > Tonto Trip in Oct

2:49 p.m. on July 2, 2012 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
2 forum posts

Calling GC experienced hikers...

Hi all,

I'm new to Trailspace. I live in the lovely Ozarks and used to live in AZ. I've done GC trips in the past, including solo, always along the BA/Kaibab corridor - it has been a few years since the last.

I submitted a backcountry itinerary (for three nights) to the park service for this Oct. It has tentatively been approved pending my acknowledgement of a potentially strenuous trip. I'd like to run the itinerary by group for feedback/insights. Trip goes as follows:

I hike into canyon along Hermit Trail and first night is at Hermit Rapids. Second day takes me onto Tonto trail and spend night at Cedar Spring. Third day i continue along Tonto to BA and go up and spend night at Indian Garden. Next day, continue up BA and out of the canyon.

Mainly the concern is condition of Hermit trail in descent first day, and length of hike on day three from Cedar Spring to IG. Not including any side-excusions, i'm down for ~30 miles over four days.

It's a solo trip. I'm a seasoned backpacker and know my limits and gear/food/water needs quite well. Physical condition is very very good. I'm 37.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Cheers,

Luke

5:44 a.m. on July 3, 2012 (EDT)
102 reviewer rep
2,280 forum posts

When I did the Hermit back in the mid 1980s, it was a “rustic” trail.  Many sections in the rougher parts of the trail were obliterated by talus and scree slides.  The trail isn’t hard to track, but you need to be sure footed and agile.  Some sections the descent were steep enough that traction was an issue.