jack river falls

4:15 p.m. on March 26, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
20 forum posts

planning a trip to do the jack river falls loop. 14 mile trip over the weekend. my brother in law has done it several times and highly recommends it. I'm a beginner and just looking for some tips/ gear advice. we will be going the end of April.

4:36 p.m. on March 26, 2013 (EDT)
12 reviewer rep
836 forum posts

where is it located?

5:13 p.m. on March 26, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
20 forum posts

north Georgia in the cohutta wildernesd

6:46 p.m. on March 26, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
606 forum posts

Put cahutta in the search window on the top right. You will find many threads, even one about the loop in question. Tipi walter has some trip reports from that area, he knows it pretty well I think. Maybe patman could help too, thats their neck of the woods. Im sure they will chime in when they can, pat works and walter is prob in the woods.

5:42 p.m. on March 27, 2013 (EDT)
REVIEW CORPS
755 reviewer rep
1,226 forum posts

AUblake, I have not explored the Cohutta yet myself and have only just experienced the Big Frog Wilderness. This trip report from Tipi shows his route pretty well and he did go by Jacks River Falls: http://www.trailspace.com/forums/trip-reports/topics/141187.html

As far as advise specific to this trip, the main thing I would recommend to a beginner is researching how to perform safe water crossings; here are a few quick things I found on this site:

http://www.trailspace.com/articles/how-to-cross-streams.html

http://www.trailspace.com/forums/backcountry/topics/119580.html

Depending on the route you choose you may have multiple water crossings. For those that attempt the entire jacks river trail, a second pair of dry camp shoes is recommended as the whole trail has lots and lots of crossings. And bring some extra dry socks!