Yosemite in 2014 or other suggestions?

6:43 p.m. on May 29, 2013 (EDT)
48 reviewer rep
8 forum posts

My hiking buddies and I have been canoing every other year in the Boundary Waters since 1998 and have decided to try somewhere else in May of 2014. Since we routinely hike each year in the NC Mountains as well (Slick Rock/Citico) we decided to maybe fore go the canoes and look for a 6-7 day hiking trip out west. Many of us have never been to Yosemite National Park so I'm checking on that option. Looking for any suggested books on the trails there, hints on campsites or what to expect tourist/crowd wise the week before Memorial Day weekend (our normal time to go).

Though Yosemite is somewhere I would love to check out, I also know the group isn't looking for trails that seem more like a NY City street scene than wilderness trails. But maybe research will find some gorgeous trails in the park that are less traveled? Then save a few days for the Ansel Adams views... I assume you can't get both, right?

Also, open for suggestions of other hikes and special places elsewhere in the country. Stunning views or valley hikes near water but doesn't take 3 planes and 10 hours to drive to. We want to spend most of our time in the woods. (Not that we don't like to kick back a couple of pints of Moose Drool in a local watering hole after we get out. Think Ely, Mn )

For what it's worth, our group is comprised of scouters ranging in age from mid 40's to 60 years old. Not hard core young minimalists with legs like rocks, so temper the suggestions to realistic options! :-)

Thanks!

10:47 p.m. on May 29, 2013 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
368 forum posts