MN Backpacking

12:46 p.m. on July 13, 2006 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1 forum posts

I am a moderatly experienced backcountry and climbing enthusiest. I am now a resident of Southern Minnesota and I am looking for some ideas of areas for a 4-5 day trip in the region. I would like to stay in southern MN or Wisconsin, possibly iowa. Anyone know of some good trips or resources for this area?

8:30 a.m. on July 14, 2006 (EDT)
(Guest)

Hi,

I'm MN as well. I'd say your best first bet would be the Superior Hiking Trail. Great trip. Just google it and you'll come up with tons of resources. Also, the Boundary Waters is fantastic, but that's geared more toward canoe camping, though there's plenty of backcountry hiking there. Hope this helps.

12:24 a.m. on October 3, 2006 (EDT)
8 reviewer rep
29 forum posts

Yes, go to the Superior Hiking Trail. I have been there several times and it has never failed me. I love that place. It is a little far from southern MN, but for a 4-5 day trip you should be okay. One of my favorite sections is Lake Agnes.

1:47 p.m. on October 4, 2006 (EDT)
0 reviewer rep
1,083 forum posts

The Superior Hiking Trail is quite nice and the southern end may be a short enough drive.

The ice age trail runs through Wisconsin and may be an option for you. I've not tried this trail, but would like to someday. I'd like to try a fall trip in this area, but I'm a bit spooked by the notion of hunters throughout the area in the fall. Post a report if you go, I'd like to hear what you think.
http://www.iceagetrail.org/infocenter/index.html

This is the only longer trail I know of in the area. There are some nice state parks in your area, Whitewater comes to mind. Trails are not long enough for a continual trip, but you can hike to a backpack site inside the park and do day trips.

12:06 a.m. on October 5, 2006 (EDT)
8 reviewer rep
29 forum posts