Beginner Trip Planning

8:08 p.m. on August 18, 2008 (EDT)
27 reviewer rep
82 forum posts

Hello everyone, i am the current noob here, i am a noob to backpacking as well. I used to hike a lot when i was younger, 10-12 area, so i never had to worry about what to bring, someone else always had everything! Now, 23, starting to get back into things, and just wanted some expert advice, and recommendations on what to bring/prepare for a 2-3 day trip in the WA backwoods. keep in mind, i am an avid hiker (no packing, or nights out) so i do already have good boots, and em pretty experienced with nasty trail conditions requiring no equipment. I have my pack picked out pretty much already. So far it is a toss up between the REI Quick 45, and the REI Mars 85 pack (big diff in size, i know, but the 45 is an ok size, but then again the mars has awesome padding). I am currently looking at some free standing, vestibule having, mountain hardwear tents, ultralights, like the Helion 2 (i will be doing most all my hikes with a partner). And last, ive been searching for a good, ultralight mummy bag, bout 20 degree area, less than $260 area. And I was looking at (dunno brand) the "mini egg Carton" dense foam style sleeping pads.

But now my real question is food, prep, and clothing. what do most of you bring food wise? And prepping your food, do you only carry dehydrated items? stove? and last, i understand VERY WELL that here in Western WA, the weather is about 75% rain, so im going to need warmer clothing. But can anyone recommend specific brands? Styles? thank you for any and all input! I look forward to hopefully getting to know some of you.

BTW, does anyone know any good trails on Forest Service Road 56? Middlefork Road access area. (besides Goldmeyer Hotsprings) Like a good hidden lake or something.